North Colchester Healthcare Centre
North Colchester Healthcare Centre

In our patients’ words

At North Colchester Healthcare Centre we’re committed to monitoring patient welfare and satisfaction, and to continuous improvement in everything we do. Through our Patient Satisfaction Programme we record every patient’s level of satisfaction with the service, treatment and care they receive.

If you have used our service in the last month, please also consider completing our patient survey. You can return completed forms via email or in person to North Colchester Healthcare Centre.

You can provide your feedback quickly and easily through our Feedback form.

Feedback

Visited the walk in clinic today as could not get an appointment with my own doctor. I must say I saw a lovely nurse practitioner. They checked me over and gave me a prescription as I had a throat infection and wasn't feeling well. I would definitely recommend this clinic and I only waited about 30 minutes. Thank you for your help.
Betty about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March, 2017
I was unable to get an appointment with my own GP so used the walk in centre. This is clearly a valued service that I was very grateful for at a time when I needed clinical advice. Thank you.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I attended the diabetes clinic for over a year with type 1 diabetes and received excellent care. I had to attend out of hours at the suggestion of NHS 111 and was seen immediately. The fact that this is a local service and takes some of the pressure off A&E is reassuring. Educating people to use it instead of A&E is essential. Perhaps GP surgeries could help more in this respect. Colchester is expanding at such a rate that this centre is essential.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I was seen quickly, efficiently and given the right medication. thank you so much.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
Arrived for an appointment about an on-going arthritis condition and seen promptly. The GP took time to talk to me face to face, rather than burying their head in their computer, and typing as I spoke. This level of care and respect is really appreciated, thank you. I was also able to talk about a skin condition that was causing me concern. I was referred for an x-ray for my knee and a teledermoscopy for the mole... I had to wait about an hour but both referrals were dealt with before leaving the centre and got a follow up appointment with the GP of my choice, within 6 days. That is service!!!
Matt Farrell about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March 2017, March, 2017

 

NHS Choices logo

Latest reviews from NHS Choices

I was working in the hospital for a full week but I had left my Insulin at home which was 150 miles away. Advanced Nurse Practitioner listened and immediately understood my dangerous situation and rapidly arranged a consultation and resolved my issue by prescribing the required medication. Without her timely intervention I would have been left with no other option than making a 300 mile round trip to retrieve my medication from my fridge at home. Her compassion and professionalism is a glowing accolade to the healthcare services.
Steve Thompson, October 2018
I have suffered with several chronic pain conditions for over 10 years and it took a long time to be listened to and responded to. I have had a lot of very poor experiences that I have complained about as I believe feedback is essential to getting things improved. Today I saw a new doctor and I was taken aback by how amazing she was! She listened to me and empathised, it wasn’t robotic, it was personal: she looked at me and said “you have sad eye, you look in pain”, she doesn’t know me but understood me straight away: her eye contact and communication was second to none with a soft but confident bed side manner. She suggested some treatment I have never heard of and explained everything. So grateful I got an appointment with this GP today.
TaniaStone, September 2018
Very difficult to get an appointment. Every advance appointment is booked for over a month so you have phone at 7am on the day and wait on hold for 25 mins and you might get one or might not. Very frustrating. If you give up and go to the walk in you have to tell the receptionist details of your medical issue and they can get annoyed if they don't know what it is. The sign over the reception desk says the gp deals with sexual health but the receptionist just gave me a badly photocopied cover of a leaflet saying I have to go somewhere else and that the gp does not do sexual health. Even though there are no appointments they are still registering new patients.
Anonymous, August 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on August 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not able to book a convenient appointment with us. We continually review our appointment system to make it as valuable as possible for our patients. We appreciate patients making appointments are unwell and in need of swift medical attention but sometimes the demand outstrips our resources. We will continue to work hard amending our appointment system, and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
If you even need an appointment with the GP you have to call at 07:00 sharp in the morning. You have to wait about 10-15 min or longer to get through the line and talk to someone at reception. When you finnaly talk to that someone, chances are very high that there are no more appointments available. If you try to book an appointment for another day, these are booked allready for a month or two in advance. Doctors are short of staff, in annual leave, sick and so on. It is like you are allmost forced to go to A&E if you have a problem which can get worse in time.
Anonymous, August 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on August 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not able to book a convenient appointment with us. We continually review our appointment system to make it as valuable as possible for our patients. We appreciate patients making appointments are unwell and in need of swift medical attention but sometimes the demand outstrips our resources. We run a choose well campaign in conjunction with our Primary Care Trust to help educate patients in the best course of healthcare available to them, whether this is self-care at home, visiting a pharmacy, seeing their GP or attending a Walk-in Centre or A&E. This is intended to ease the pressure and demand on all services. We will continue to work hard amending our appointment system, and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
I have been registered with the practice for around 2 years now. The receptionists are always friendly and helpful, if they cannot help with your particular query then they will always go out of there way to find someone that can. The GP's are absolutely outstanding and you feel like a patient not just a number. I have nothing but good things to say about the surgery as I have always had great experiences. Even if you can't get an appointment with a doctor, you can see a nurse for a lot of things, blood tests in the surgery or a telephone appointment.
Charlotte Jones, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback.
Every time i've ever required an appointment i've always had relative success in booking same day appointments. one particular doctor has always excelled in my opinion and am always happy to see him on every occasion
Mike worsley, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
I have been a patient of this practice for about eighteen months now, during which I have unfortunately been having a lot of hospital and therefore GP appointments. I have on every occasion been treated with respect and given all of the help and that I needed, without fail, each time delivered in a very polite and friendly manner. If on occasion I haven't seen the same doctor as previously I'd seen, the new one would go through all of my bits and bobs in a polite and thorough way. All of the Doctors are very much up to speed with, and seem to take a genuine interest in your problems...they do not at any time make you feel that you are taking up to much of their time and are always very helpful. You could not ask for more ---If you were paying for this as a Private patient --you would not get more! A huge thank you to all of the Staff, GPs Nurses and Admin...Indeed a lovely practice.
shaz, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
Thank you for your kind comments which were appreciated by our whole team. We work hard to provide a great service for you so are delighted when we have such good feedback.
You need a recorded message to play to anyone calling once your appointments are full . Waiting 30 minutes to then be told no appointments is very unfair . Also you need emergency appointments available for those who are genuinely very unwell .
Anonymous, April 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2018
We are sorry you have had problems getting through to the surgery on the phone. We often receive high volumes of calls, especially first thing in the morning. Although we actively encourage patients who do not need a same day appointment to phone later on in the day, sometimes the demand for appointments is so high that delays in getting through are unavoidable. Unfortunately we are unable to add a message when appointments have been used as we do not control the message facility locally. We sincerely hope the next time you call you find our service as swift and friendly as it is intended to be.
welcomed by smiling and friendly receptionist and seen by an equally friendly and smiling doctor after a wait of just under an hour. Diagnosed quickly and advice for ongoing care delivered in a understandable and easy manner. Reassuringly professional service showing the NHS at its best. Thank you NCHC :-)
CoggyTrev, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
Whilst we work very hard we always endeavor to do it with a smile, so thank you for acknowledging the great work our staff do.
I went with my girlfriend and we walked from our house on the other side of Colchester thinking that we would not get back till late as we have never used this service before. To our delite we waited only 20 min even though seemed pretty busy. The GP was so kind and took time with my girlfriend. From start to finish 5 stars.
Mike Coupe, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback.
Very pleased with the service at the walking centre. And the staff and the doctors were very helpful indeed. Better than the walking centre in southeast London
Anonymous, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.

Our news

It all adds up. Over £1900 raised for Macmillan through Care UK Health Care sites!

It all adds up. Over £1900 raised for Macmillan through Care UK Health Care sites!

October 24 2018

Throughout September, many of Care UK’s sites joined in with fundraising for Macmillan Cancer Support, raising over £1900 for the cause.

Read more >

Your autumn survival guide 2018

Your autumn survival guide 2018

September 27 2018

 Our autumn survival guide will help see you through to the other side with things to do, recipes and health tips.

Read more >

Armed Forces Day - Leanne’s story

Armed Forces Day - Leanne’s story

June 29 2018

In our final instalment before Armed Forces Day, we’ll be finding out Leanne’s story.

Read more >

Armed Forces Day - Andy’s story

Armed Forces Day - Andy’s story

June 28 2018

In the third part of our run up to Armed Forces Day, we’ll be finding out Andy’s story.

Read more >