North Colchester Healthcare Centre
North Colchester Healthcare Centre

In our patients’ words

At North Colchester Healthcare Centre we’re committed to monitoring patient welfare and satisfaction, and to continuous improvement in everything we do. Through our Patient Satisfaction Programme we record every patient’s level of satisfaction with the service, treatment and care they receive.

If you have used our service in the last month, please also consider completing our patient survey. You can return completed forms via email or in person to North Colchester Healthcare Centre.

You can provide your feedback quickly and easily through our Feedback form.

Feedback

Visited the walk in clinic today as could not get an appointment with my own doctor. I must say I saw a lovely nurse practitioner. They checked me over and gave me a prescription as I had a throat infection and wasn't feeling well. I would definitely recommend this clinic and I only waited about 30 minutes. Thank you for your help.
Betty about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March, 2017
I was unable to get an appointment with my own GP so used the walk in centre. This is clearly a valued service that I was very grateful for at a time when I needed clinical advice. Thank you.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I attended the diabetes clinic for over a year with type 1 diabetes and received excellent care. I had to attend out of hours at the suggestion of NHS 111 and was seen immediately. The fact that this is a local service and takes some of the pressure off A&E is reassuring. Educating people to use it instead of A&E is essential. Perhaps GP surgeries could help more in this respect. Colchester is expanding at such a rate that this centre is essential.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I was seen quickly, efficiently and given the right medication. thank you so much.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
Arrived for an appointment about an on-going arthritis condition and seen promptly. The GP took time to talk to me face to face, rather than burying their head in their computer, and typing as I spoke. This level of care and respect is really appreciated, thank you. I was also able to talk about a skin condition that was causing me concern. I was referred for an x-ray for my knee and a teledermoscopy for the mole... I had to wait about an hour but both referrals were dealt with before leaving the centre and got a follow up appointment with the GP of my choice, within 6 days. That is service!!!
Matt Farrell about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March 2017, March, 2017

 

NHS Choices logo

Latest reviews from NHS Choices

I have been registered with the practice for around 2 years now. The receptionists are always friendly and helpful, if they cannot help with your particular query then they will always go out of there way to find someone that can. The GP's are absolutely outstanding and you feel like a patient not just a number. I have nothing but good things to say about the surgery as I have always had great experiences. Even if you can't get an appointment with a doctor, you can see a nurse for a lot of things, blood tests in the surgery or a telephone appointment.
Charlotte Jones, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback.
Every time i've ever required an appointment i've always had relative success in booking same day appointments. one particular doctor has always excelled in my opinion and am always happy to see him on every occasion
Mike worsley, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
I have been a patient of this practice for about eighteen months now, during which I have unfortunately been having a lot of hospital and therefore GP appointments. I have on every occasion been treated with respect and given all of the help and that I needed, without fail, each time delivered in a very polite and friendly manner. If on occasion I haven't seen the same doctor as previously I'd seen, the new one would go through all of my bits and bobs in a polite and thorough way. All of the Doctors are very much up to speed with, and seem to take a genuine interest in your problems...they do not at any time make you feel that you are taking up to much of their time and are always very helpful. You could not ask for more ---If you were paying for this as a Private patient --you would not get more! A huge thank you to all of the Staff, GPs Nurses and Admin...Indeed a lovely practice.
shaz, May 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2018
Thank you for your kind comments which were appreciated by our whole team. We work hard to provide a great service for you so are delighted when we have such good feedback.
You need a recorded message to play to anyone calling once your appointments are full . Waiting 30 minutes to then be told no appointments is very unfair . Also you need emergency appointments available for those who are genuinely very unwell .
Anonymous, April 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2018
We are sorry you have had problems getting through to the surgery on the phone. We often receive high volumes of calls, especially first thing in the morning. Although we actively encourage patients who do not need a same day appointment to phone later on in the day, sometimes the demand for appointments is so high that delays in getting through are unavoidable. Unfortunately we are unable to add a message when appointments have been used as we do not control the message facility locally. We sincerely hope the next time you call you find our service as swift and friendly as it is intended to be.
In trying to avoid A&E I took my son to the walk in clinic he had sustained an injury to his left shoulder after an expected wait of 1.5 hours he was seen by the staff. The nurse said we needed to go to A&E because they were unable to X-ray shoulders. Would it be possible to update your Walk in clinic information online stating the limitations of X-rays in that particular department. It would save time and valuable resource. Apart from the above, our experience with the wonderful staff is uplifting given the pressures. The the receptionist in A&E is doing an incredible job. Long live the NHS.
Anonymous, November 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on November 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We will review the current information on our website and update accordingly but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a good experience. I have shared your feedback with my team and they are delighted with your comments. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
I attended the walk in centre as my own GP practice had no appts until Feb. I knew I had a chest infection that needed treating and the nurse who assessed me agreed. I waited an hour and 20 mins but this was considerably quicker than Feb! Why cant all GP practices operate a walk in service. It's ridiculous.
Rachel Wilson, January 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on January 2018
Thank you for your kind comments which were appreciated by our whole team. We work hard to provide a great service for you so are delighted when we have such good feedback.
The whole point of me joining this surgery was so I could get an appointment with a doctor as advertised, any day of the week, any time etc. I can NEVER get an appointment in advance, always told to either ring on the day, I work antisocial hours and can't do that, or told to come to the walk in centre and wait for two to three hours to see someone, totally unacceptable. I meed to see a doctor but can't, I can't get treatment.
Anonymous, January 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on January 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not able to book a convenient appointment with us. We continually review our appointment system to make it as valuable as possible for our patients. We appreciate patients making appointments are unwell and in need of swift medical attention but sometimes the demand outstrips our resources. We will continue to work hard amending our appointment system, and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
I arrived here this morning and explained to receptionist that i was on holiday and my asthma was causing me problems and my inhaler was running out and i would need to see a doctor to prescribe me a new inhaler and she refused to allow me to see tge doctor stating that as my inhaler was on a repeat prescription they couldnt help me!!!!!!!. The pharmacist at Asdas helped me by getting my doctors at home 190 miles away to electronically srnd a prescription though, all sorted in 15 minutes If i had had a asthma attack what would the drop in centre be responsible for???? Please train your receptionists better or stop them from making poor decisions.
Julie Price, January 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on January 2018
We take patient care very seriously and are sincerely disappointed that you feel you didn’t receive the highest standard of care. I would like to speak to you about this personally and so invite you to meet with me at your earliest convenience.
I brought my mum in today following a ankle injury, due to her falling from her bottom stair. I can't praise the efficiency of checking in to reception and the care she received from all the staff and nurses. It installed my faith in the NHS. So thank you.
Anonymous, February 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on February 2018
We are extremely pleased you found the registration process simple and friendly as it is intended to be. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
I would like to thank a great care and attention to my case from the doctor. He is one of your best professionals. He is a very knowledgeable and attentful to his patients. In the beginning of the 2017 I had many issues with dizziness and pain of the neck. The doctor have helped to diagnose the neck cyst and I have received necessary treatment in time. With kind regards, Anna Dun
Anna Dun, February 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on February 2018
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service though so if you have any further comments or suggestions please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me.
welcomed by smiling and friendly receptionist and seen by an equally friendly and smiling doctor after a wait of just under an hour. Diagnosed quickly and advice for ongoing care delivered in a understandable and easy manner. Reassuringly professional service showing the NHS at its best. Thank you NCHC :-)
CoggyTrev, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
Whilst we work very hard we always endeavor to do it with a smile, so thank you for acknowledging the great work our staff do.
I went with my girlfriend and we walked from our house on the other side of Colchester thinking that we would not get back till late as we have never used this service before. To our delite we waited only 20 min even though seemed pretty busy. The GP was so kind and took time with my girlfriend. From start to finish 5 stars.
Mike Coupe, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback.
Very pleased with the service at the walking centre. And the staff and the doctors were very helpful indeed. Better than the walking centre in southeast London
Anonymous, March 2018
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.

Our news

Care UK Healthcare and our preparations for GDPR

Care UK Healthcare and our preparations for GDPR

May 22 2018

You will have seen the mention of GDPR in some form, in one place or another, but do you really know what it means? Below we will outline what GDPR is and what Care UK is doing to get ready for the new legislation that is set to go live on the 25th May 2018.

Read more >

A message of celebration for International Nurses Day

A message of celebration for International Nurses Day

May 10 2018

On this International Nurses Day, Saturday 12th May, we want to celebrate all our wonderful nurses who work hard every day, always putting their patients first.

Read more >

Care UK scoop award for the NHS Equality and Diversity Partners Programme

Care UK scoop award for the NHS Equality and Diversity Partners Programme

May 9 2018

Care UK participated in the 2017-18 NHS Equality and Diversity Partners Programme, which it successfully completed following the final members day on 14 April in Leeds.

Read more >

A bit of advice for London Marathon 2018 runners

A bit of advice for London Marathon 2018 runners

April 19 2018

It’s set to be a scorcher this Sunday, and while most of us will be pulling out the BBQ, over 40,000 people will be putting on their running shoes to take part in the 2018 London Marathon. 

Read more >