North Colchester Healthcare Centre
North Colchester Healthcare Centre

In our patients’ words

At North Colchester Healthcare Centre we’re committed to monitoring patient welfare and satisfaction, and to continuous improvement in everything we do. Through our Patient Satisfaction Programme we record every patient’s level of satisfaction with the service, treatment and care they receive.

If you have used our service in the last month, please also consider completing our patient survey. You can return completed forms via email or in person to North Colchester Healthcare Centre.

You can provide your feedback quickly and easily through our Feedback form.

Feedback

Visited the walk in clinic today as could not get an appointment with my own doctor. I must say I saw a lovely nurse practitioner. They checked me over and gave me a prescription as I had a throat infection and wasn't feeling well. I would definitely recommend this clinic and I only waited about 30 minutes. Thank you for your help.
Betty about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March, 2017
I was unable to get an appointment with my own GP so used the walk in centre. This is clearly a valued service that I was very grateful for at a time when I needed clinical advice. Thank you.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I attended the diabetes clinic for over a year with type 1 diabetes and received excellent care. I had to attend out of hours at the suggestion of NHS 111 and was seen immediately. The fact that this is a local service and takes some of the pressure off A&E is reassuring. Educating people to use it instead of A&E is essential. Perhaps GP surgeries could help more in this respect. Colchester is expanding at such a rate that this centre is essential.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
I was seen quickly, efficiently and given the right medication. thank you so much.
A patient at North Colchester Healthcare Centre, January 2017, March, 2017
Arrived for an appointment about an on-going arthritis condition and seen promptly. The GP took time to talk to me face to face, rather than burying their head in their computer, and typing as I spoke. This level of care and respect is really appreciated, thank you. I was also able to talk about a skin condition that was causing me concern. I was referred for an x-ray for my knee and a teledermoscopy for the mole... I had to wait about an hour but both referrals were dealt with before leaving the centre and got a follow up appointment with the GP of my choice, within 6 days. That is service!!!
Matt Farrell about North Colchester Healthcare Centre, March 2017, March, 2017

 

NHS Choices logo

Latest reviews from NHS Choices

I was told to registered for the GP service because of their weekend service . I was given an appointment for Saturday due to nature of my job but the appointment didn't take place because of the cyber attack. I was told to call back and book a new date which I did but the receptionist told me I couldn't get an appointment because they don't provide blood test service on Saturday. I find this very frustrating because I don't stay in colchester during the week day and my health is deteriorating and the receptionist was not helpful. The GPS need to specific what service they provide for people that can't get day off during the week and need medical attention .
Anonymous, May 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not able to book a convenient appointment with us. We continually review our appointment system to make it as valuable as possible for our patients. Unfortunately due to no sample collection service on weekends we are unable to provide a walk in phlebotomy service during this time. Our walk in phlebotomy clinic is open Monday - Friday (excluding bank holidays) 7am - 2pm.
The visit was the result of a suspected fracture following a fall. The nurse practitioner met me on arrival because I could not weight bear. The nurse fetched crutches because no wheelchairs are available. They explained the X Ray procedure which if it showed a fracture would mean a visit to A&E requiring independent transport would be needed. The nurse was thouroughly professional at all times reassuring and taking care of pain and other needs. The nurse kept me well informed of what was happening and when I would be seen. The radiographer was efficient and polite. The ankle was not fractured so the final consultation was with the nurse practitioner who gave comprehensive advice about dealing with the injury and pain relief. We were there for 2 hours. I cannot praised the work of the nurse highly enough. This kind of service needs recognition.
Anonymous, June 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on June 2017
Thank you for your kind comments which were appreciated by our whole team. We work hard to provide a great service for you so are delighted when we have such good feedback.
I had to meet the midwife for my 28th weeks check.I booked myself in at the reception at 2:45 pm and the person told me to wait to be called.Because I had to be at work at 5:30 pm,at 5 pm I asked the reception if the midwife can still see me,and the person told me that the midwife was already gone. Asking After that long wait...hmm I asked if i could book for friday and i have been told that they don't have prebookable apointments...What kind of customer service is this?I could've been told that the midwife is leaving and not to wait any more.Just waisted my time and patience.How could they treat a pregnant woman like this?
Andreea L, June 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on June 2017
We are sorry you have had problems when attending your midwife appointment. Unfortunately the midwife does not work in our clinical system therefore does not know when people arrive, however she is expected to check if patients are waiting. We will raise this concern with the midwives on your behalf. In relation to booking an appointment could you please contact the surgery to arrange this.
My husband and I registered with the gp surgery about a year ago. There were a few teething problems with notes from our previous surgery getting lost in the system, but apart from that I cant fault it. My husband had a back injury early this year, which, on investigation, revealed other, more worrying problems. It turned out to be nothing, but it was a month of sickening worry that we will never forget. During all of the scans tests and appointments, the staff at the surgery were fantastic. The doctors were informative and reassuring, the receptionists were helpful and professional. They never made me feel like a nuisance for persistent phone calls. I don't think we could have had better care. Thank you.
Anonymous, May 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on May 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. I have shared your feedback with my team. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
I am writing to express my gratitude for the quality of my service I received at the walk in centre today.
Tony Brennan, April 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2017
Whilst we work very hard we always endeavour to do it with a smile, so thank you for acknowledging the great work our staff do.
This is not the first time I have to go to the walk in center for and I confirmed my previous impressions of the service: excellent . The set up is welcoming, clean and allows you to relax. The receptionist always professional explaining what you should expect and the staff were as always attentive, competent and caring. I could not expect a better service.
Sara, April 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2017
Thank you for your kind comments which were appreciated by our whole team. We work hard to provide a great service for you so are delighted when we have such good feedback.
Worryingly misleading information was given about the treatment of my husband's hay fever/ allergic rhinitis. Yes, antihistamine tablets can be bought over the counter, but antihistamine sprays MUST be prescribed by a GP. However, after a debilitating wait of almost 4 hours; my very unwell husband of nearly 70 was told that he "could buy antihistamine spray at the pharmacy - but if it didn't work he could buy a steroid spray." A) I know this to be wholly incorrect and B) one of the few advantages of ageing is the qualification for free prescriptions! If you must use websites as an adjunct to your professional eyes and ears; please try 'NHS Choices' which confirms my statement re the prescription of antihistamine sprays. Please don't depend on Dr Google at 'Patient Info'! My husband has since obtained the correct advice and prescription medication from our own GP
Anonymous, April 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2017
We take patient care very seriously and are sincerely disappointed that you feel you didn’t receive the highest standard of care. I would like to speak to you about this personally and so invite you to contact the center to meet with me at your earliest convenience.
As I have regular blood tests I chose to register with the walk-in center and I am so pleased that I did. The appointment system is straightforward and if I only need to have a telephone consultation I am always called back on that day. I am given the reasurance by a nurse , who listens and if I have to see a doctor that is done and arranged. I get the call back to notify me of my tests and prescription etc by extremely lovely receptionist. So thank you .
Sharon Ortiz, April 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2017
When we receive positive feedback from patients in this way it really makes our efforts worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback.
I went to the walk in centre at 7.30am on Friday 7th April 2017 having woken this morning with a dreadfully itchy rash and bumps (urticaria) all over my upper legs, groin, lower arms and neck. I was seen very quickly as there were only a few people in the queue at this time. I needed to get to work and was afraid if I waited to get a doctor's appointment, at my usual surgery, I may not get one early if at all. The nurse practioner was very helpful and I came away with a prescription for antihistamine tablets and cream which relieved the symptoms over the day. I was told the allergic reaction was probably due to tree pollen. I do suffer from hay fever and other allergies. Overall I was very pleased with the service I received and would not hesitate to recommend the walk in centre in Turner Road to anyone.
John, April 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on April 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
With having 2 young children we have visited the walk in centre quite a few times now and I can't fault it. Every time we have been assessed with the hour and then treated with 2.5 hours which I think is acceptable considering how busy they are and it beats waiting in A&E for ages. There is a separate waiting area for children which is good. The nurses were excellent and so where the doctors, I take my hat off to what they have to deal with every day and night.
ElsieMay, March 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on March 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service for our patients and so really appreciate it when you have a great experience. We value all feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services, so many thanks once again for taking the time to add feedback on the NHS website.
Have been numerous times and they have always been very helpful. We would have been lost without this service on the numerous occasions our young daughter has been very ill. As long as you know how the system works, you should have no need to fault this service. Very grateful it is there.
Anonymous, January 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on January 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide a good service and in doing so really appreciate it when you have a great experience.
I attended the Walk In Centre on a Sunday evening recently suffering from a chest infection and high temperature. I have recently relocated to the UK from South Africa and not yet registered with a Dr up North where I will be living and so I attended the Walk In Clinic and I cannot fault the attention I received... The Receptionist was helpful & smiley and after a very the short wait I saw the doctor who was lovely and concerned and attentive and gave me a perscription for antibiotics and now I am fine! We obtained the antibiotics from Boots night service at the Tollgate centre where the assistant there was very helpful too. All medication was free on the NHS. Thank You. I also had very very positive results with the NHS in 1998 with all my treatment for Breast Cancer at Clatterbridge Hospital on the Wirral. Everyone, without exception was wonderful and 18years later I am free of the disease. Thank You and I will continue to tell everyone I know of the excellent attention i have always received with the NHS.
Maryrose Wielopolska, February 2017
North Colchester Healthcare Centre replied on February 2017
Whilst we work very hard we always endeavor to do it with a smile, so thank you for acknowledging the great work our staff do.

Our news

Care UK’s guide to help family carers

Care UK’s guide to help family carers

May 25 2017

Our talented colleagues in Residential Care recently launched a guide called A helping hand, an easy-to-follow guide packed with practical and emotional advice and support from our own care colleagues.

Read more >

Your summer survival guide

Your summer survival guide

May 24 2017

The Care UK Health Care summer survival guide is here to see you through those hazy days that will soon be on their way, with recipes, things to do and tips for keeping your house cool.

Read more >

A great turnout for the centre’s first Open Day

A great turnout for the centre’s first Open Day

May 4 2017

Our North Colchester Health Centre recently opened its doors and invited local carers, people with learning disabilities and members of the Patient Participation Group (PPG) in for the centre’s very first Open Day.

Read more >

New book to be released for one of our own registrars

New book to be released for one of our own registrars

May 2 2017

Congratulations to Dr Afiniki Akanet, one of our Warwickshire registrars, on her upcoming book release, Life Without Coffee: Choosing happiness over stress.

Read more >